30 May 2024

30 To Watch: Journalism Awards 2024 Gold Winners Revealed

We are pleased to announce the gold winners, in the 30 To Watch: Journalism awards, 2024

MHP Group 30 To Watch Journalism Gold Winners 2024
Keith Gladdis
Keith Gladdis

Last night, 30 of the UK’s leading young journalists gathered for the 2023 MHP Group 30 To Watch: Journalism Awards, celebrating with leading editors, broadcasters and commentators as this year’s Gold winners were announced. 

Hosted by ITV News’ Lucrezia Millarini, and with addresses from the Deputy Editor of the Times Maggie O’Riordan, Deputy Editor and the former Editor in Chief of the Mirror Alison Phillips, the awards once-again brought together the rising stars of British news.

Now in their 13th year, the MHP Group 30 to Watch Journalism Awards are a major moment in the industry’s calendar, judged by some of the biggest names in news. This year’s event took place at the News UK HQ. 

We were delighted to welcome many of last year’s judges back, many of whom handed out awards at the ceremony, including Anthony France of the Evening Standard, Peter Campbell of The Financial Times and Paul Morgan-Bentley of The Times. 

More than 350 journalists entered this year, vying for one of 30 places among the winners, including 10 prestigious Gold awards. 

The 30 To Watch Gold Winners:

City & Business – Tom Saunders, The Times
Culture, Entertainment & Lifestyle – Shehab Khan, ITV News
Health – Cree Haughton, ITV News
International Affairs – Sarah Newey, Daily Telegraph
News & Investigations – Ali Mitib, The Times
Politics – Andrew Misra, ITV News
Personal Finance & Consumer Affairs – Pieter Snepvangers, Daily Telegraph
Production – Jonny McGuigan, BBC News
Science, Environment & Technology – Matilda Davies, The Times
Sport – Isaan Khan, Daily Mail 

MHP Group 30 To Watch Journalism Gold Winners 2024

Returning for a second year, the Breakthrough Award exists to promote opportunity and diversity in British news.  

The 2024 Breakthrough Award was won by Eleanor Gregory, ITV News. 

Opening the ceremony, Maggie O’Riordan, Deputy Editor, The Times, said:  

“The MHP 30 To Watch Journalism Awards have rightly become a bellwether for the best new talent in journalism recognising 30 brilliant journalists whose work is making waves across categories as diverse as Business, News & Investigations and Science, Environment & Technology.” 

“Every year is a good year to celebrate journalism. But this year is particularly worthy of celebration. This year is historic. It’s the year more people than ever before will be voting in democracies across the world.” 

“Journalism matters. And – of course – it continues to evolve. You are at the vanguard of that evolution. You are setting the pace. You are the future.” 

Alison Phillips, former Editor in Chief of The Mirror was presented with the 30 To Watch Outstanding Achievement Award, in recognition of her contribution to British Journalism.

Presenting the award, MHP Group Head of Strategic Media Keith Gladdis said: 

“Alison is someone who earned the devotion of her newsroom. Everyone from messenger through to hard-nosed news editor.

“When we asked one of her news editors about working with Alison he said ‘Alison’s superpower is her understanding of the Mirror reader, she’s the best editor I’ve ever worked for’.” 


Download the awards booklet here:


The full list of winners:  

30 To Watch Breakthrough Award

Eleanor Gregory, ITV News 

City & Business

Alys Key, Digital Frontier
Tom Saunders, The Times
Highly commended – Calum Muirhead, Daily Mail / Mail on Sunday 

Culture, Entertainment & Lifestyle

Tiwa Adebayo, Bloomberg
Amy Beecham, Stylist
Shehab Khan, ITV News
Debbie Ridgard, Sky News
Highly commended – Olivia Petter, The Independent 


Cree Haughton, ITV News
Zoe Tidman, Health Service Journal
Highly commended – Anna Colivicchi, Pulse 

International Affairs

Richard Assheton, Freelance
Sarah Newey, Daily Telegraph
Jack Tayor, Sky News
Highly commended – Ian Johnston, Financial Times 

News & Investigations

Sophie Braybrook, Channel 4 News
Conor Gogarty, WalesOnline
Ali Mitib, The Times
Sabrina Miller, Mail on Sunday
Katie Tarrant, The Sunday Times
Highly commended – Holly Bancroft, The Independent 

Personal Finance & Consumer Affairs

Jessica Beard, Mail / Mail on Sunday
Pieter Snepvangers, Daily Telegraph
Highly commended – Katharine Swindells, Inside Housing 


Amy Gibbons, Daily Telegraph
Tali Fraser, The House Magazine
Andrew Misra, ITV News
Highly commended – Lewis Denison, ITV News 


Sarah Gough, Sky News
Jonny McGuigan, BBC News
Rachel Parkes, Channel 4 News
Highly commended – Daniel Ajose 

Science, Environment & Technology

Matilda Davies, The Times
Nimra Shahid, The Bureau of Investigative Journalism
Highly commended – Billy Perrigo, TIME Magazine 


Jordan Campbell, The Athletic
Isaan Khan, Daily Mail
Amar Mehta, Sky Sports News
Highly commended – Dan Sheldon, The Athletic 


Latest News

See all News
22 May 2024

Winners of the 30 To Watch: Journalism Awards, 2024

This is the 13th year of the 30 To Watch awards and once again the calibre of entries has been outstanding.... Read more

10 Apr 2024

Introducing the Sport Category | 30 to Watch: Journalism Awards, 2024

For 2024 we have launched a 'Sport' category to shine a spotlight on the unique storytelling and great talent within sport journalism. James Rollinson, Director, Earned Media, shares insights into the... Read more

See all News