07 Nov 2022

30 To Watch Politics Awards 2022

Our new 30 To Watch: Politics Awards recognise the best young talent in British politics – the people producing fresh policy thinking, shedding new light on issues and broadening public engagement with politics.


For over 11 years, MHP has organised the 30 To Watch Journalism Awards. The event has grown in size and stature with every passing year and there is an absolutely stellar collection of the best and brightest active in British media today.

We hope that the 30 To Watch Politics Awards can do the same for young people at the start of their career in public policy and political communication. And if the fantastic calibre of entries we received this year is anything to go by, this is an achievement that will easily be met.

Politics hasn’t been pretty in recent months. Public confidence and trust in has ebbed away and economic and civic uncertainty in the future have been the consequence. The current governmental experience could cast a long shadow if we let it.

But up and down the Country, a new generation of thinkers, campaigners and communicators have been grappling with and finding solutions to a seemingly ever-lengthening list of seemingly intractable social, economic, and diplomatic challenges.

At a time of growing political polarisation and generational change, 30 To Watch Politics wants to celebrate the people in the early stages of their careers, who are already driving future change.

It’s fair to say our judging panel – made up of 11 leading figures from across the world of British politics – agonised over the list of award winners. They were looking for rising talent who developed innovative ideas, people whose work has had an impact in terms of public engagement and policy development, and people who have acted with integrity, making their case with compelling evidence and persuasive arguments.

We hear so often that politics doesn’t make a difference, that policy doesn’t matter. But the diverse, dynamic and committed list of entrants to this these first Awards proves, politics does matter.

Our future may be in safer hands than we think.

Here are our winners:

This year’s 30 To Watch

30 to watch award politics winners
Gold Winners

Inclusivity Champion of the Year: Becky Bainbridge – RECLAIM project

The Lobby Award for Best Young Political Journalist: Tony Diver – The Telegraph

Public Health Champion of the Year: Amika George – Freeperiods

Political Thinker of the Year: Adam Hawksbee – Onward

Campaigner of the Year: Abby Jitendra – Citizens Advice

Political Communicator of the Year: Charlotte John – Simple Politics

Elected Representative of the Year: Jack Sargeant – Senedd

Unifier of the Year: Leor Zmigrod – University of Cambridge


Niall Aslam – Activist

Jessica Barnard – Young Labour

Aveek Bhattacharya – SMF

Piers Birmingham – Politika

Tabitha Boyton – Res Publica Politics

Ben Cooper – Fabian Society

Kay Davidson – British Youth Council

Oli Dugmore – JOE Media

Antonio Ferreira – Beyond

Sharon Gaffka – Campaigner

George Holt – Young Conservative Network

Tom Home – blOKes Life

Miriam Juan-Torres Gonzalez – Othering & Belonging Institute & More in Common

Kerrie Portman – Just For Kids Law, North Herts Pride and Freelance

Daisie Rees-Evans – The Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB)

Emma Roddick – Scottish Parliament

Rosa Slater – The Politics Project

Chris Thomas – Institute for Public Policy Research

Peter Turay – Labour in Communications

Kwajo Tweneboa – Social Housing

Rustam Wahab – UK Fact Check Politics

Tom Westgarth – Tony Blair Institute for Global Change

The Judges

MHP Mischief’s 30 To Watch Politics Awards are judged leading figures from across the world of British politics:


  • Sir Peter Bottomley MP – Father of the House
  • Nusrat Ghani MP – Former Minister and 1922 Committee Vice Chair
  • Jo Swinson – Former Leader of the Liberal Democrats
  • James Kirkup – Director, the Social Market Foundation
  • Dr Lee De-Wit – Head of The Political Psychology Lab, Cambridge University
  • Caroline Wheeler – Political Editor, The Sunday Times
  • Roger Perowne – CEO, Savanta Comres
  • Nick Thomas-Symonds MP – Shadow Secretary of State for International Trade
  • Sonia Sodha – Observer columnist & chief leader writer
  • Robert Ede – Head of Health and Social Care, Policy Exchange
  • Alison Goldsworthy – President of Accord and Depolarisation Project Founder

Get in touch

If you have any questions about MHP Mischief’s 30 To Watch Young Journalist Awards please email [email protected].

James Gurling, Executive Chair, Public Affairs

Latest News

See all News
22 May 2024

Winners of the 30 To Watch: Journalism Awards, 2024

This is the 13th year of the 30 To Watch awards and once again the calibre of entries has been outstanding....See More

10 Apr 2024

Introducing the Sport Category | 30 to Watch: Journalism Awards, 2024

For 2024 we have launched a 'Sport' category to shine a spotlight on the unique storytelling and great talent within sport journalism. James Rollinson, Director, Earned Media, shares insights into the...See More

See all News