07 Dec 2023

30 To Watch: Politics awards – Gold winners revealed

We are pleased to announce the gold winners, in the 30 To Watch: Politics awards, 2023


Last night, 30 of the UK’s leading young politicos came together at One Birdcage Walk in Westminster for the 2023 MHP Group 30 To Watch Politics Awards, celebrating with Members of Parliament, Political Advisors and leading editors of 2023.

Hosted by Head of Public Affairs, Tim Snowball, and with an address from Mark Wallace, Chief Executive of Total Politics, the awards brought together the rising stars of British politics.

Back for their second year, the MHP Group 30 to Watch: Politics Awards has become a major event in the industry’s calendar, judged by some of the biggest names in politics.

The 30 To Watch Gold Winners: 

Commentator – Eleni Courea, POLITICO
Diversity / Inclusivity Champion – Dr. Alex Bulat and & Lara Parizotto, Migrant Democracy Project
Health Champion – Dr Azmain Chowdhury, Doctor & Content Creator
Issue Campaigner  Hannah Swirsky, Samaritans
Local Champion – Charlie Edwards, Lancashire County Council
Parliamentarian Keir Mather, Member of Parliament for Selby and Ainsty
Political Adviser – Muneera Lula, The Labour Party
Think Tanker  Jenevieve Treadwell, Onward 

Download the 2023 awards booklet

The full list of MHP Group 30 to Watch: Politics Award 2023 winners:


Aletha Adu, The Guardian
Mhari Aurora, Sky News
Eleni Courea, POLITICO
Calum Macdonald, Times Radio 

Diversity/ Inclusivity Champion

Dr. Alex Bulat and & Lara Parizotto, Migrant Democracy Project
Haleemah Farooq, Office of Kent’s Police and Crime Commissioner
Melanie Fernandes, WIPA & KPMG 

Health Champion 

Dr Azmain Chowdhury, Doctor & Content Creator
Charli Clement, Activist & Lived Experience Consultant
Lydia Paynter, Malaria No More UK 

Issue Campaigner

Sharon Gaffka, Freelancer and Activist
Imogen Payter, UK Friends of Ukraine
Afzal Pervez, Commonwealth Research Group
Madison Rogers, Cats Protection
Nathan Stilwell, Humanists UK
Hannah Swirsky, Samaritans 

Local Champion

Charlie Edwards, Lancashire County Council
Isaac Howarth, Sheffield Conservatives
Jordan Jacobs, Rayleigh Town Council 


Sara Britcliffe, Member of Parliament for Hyndburn
Keir Mather, Member of Parliament for Selby and Ainsty
Emma Roddick, Member of The Scottish Parliament 

Political Adviser 

Laura Dunn, Consultant
Alice Hopkin, UK Home Office
Jonty Leibowitz, The Labour Party  
Muneera Lula, The Labour Party
Henna Shah, The Labour Party 

Think Tanker  

Connor Escudero, Young Fabians
Maxwell Marlow, Adam Smith Institute
Jenevieve Treadwell, Onward 

A special thank you to our esteemed judging panel this year:

Nusrat Ghani MP, Business and Trade Minister
David Lammy MP, Shadow Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs
Seema Malhotra MP, Shadow Minister for Skills
Tim Farron MP, Shadow Minister for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs
Baroness Arlene Foster, Former First Minister of Northern Ireland
Mark Wallace, Chief Executive, Total Politics
Dean Sabri, Head of UK Political Intelligence, Dods Political Intelligence
Rebecca Deegan, Founder & CEO, I have a voice
Rosa Prince, Editor, London Playbook, POLITICO
Lucy Aitkens, Group Director, External Affairs, Sky
Atul Hatwal, Editor, Labour Uncut
Claire Ellicott, Whitehall Editor, Daily Mail
Roger Perowne, CEO, Savanta

Latest News

See all News
28 Nov 2023

Winners of the 30 To Watch: Politics Awards, 2023

Congratulations to our 2023 30 To Watch: Politics award winers!...See More

28 Sep 2023

MHP Group partners with Total Politics to launch the ‘30 To Watch: Politics’ awards 2023

The awards, which return for a second year following 2022 success, celebrate the 30 individuals, aged 30 and under, who are producing fresh policy thinking, shedding light on new issues, and broadenin...See More

See all News