16 May 2022

30 To Watch Young Journalist Awards 2022

This is the eleventh year that we have organised the 30 To Watch awards, and we’re delighted that the event has grown in size and stature with every passing year.


Keith Gladdis, Senior Director, Media

Congratulations to all our MHP Mischief #30toWatch Young Journalist Awards winners.

This year’s awards have been bigger than ever. We’ve had a record 450 entries from journalists across Britain and around the world. But it’s not just the number of entries that makes the eleventh 30 To Watch Awards so exciting, it’s the quality.

We’ve seen world exclusives, agenda-setting interviews, fascinating features and hard-hitting investigations. We’ve seen innovation in the kind of stories being told and how they are being told, with advances in data journalism and ever more exciting ways of embracing social media.

It’s fair to say our panel of judges have agonised over picking our winners.

Congratulations again to our 30 winners. Now we’re looking forward to announcing our 30 Gold winners at our MHP Mischief 30ToWatch award ceremony on May 25th.

This year’s 30 To Watch

News Category

  • GOLD WINNER: Nathan Lee, ITV News
  • Nada Bashir, CNN International
  • Molly Clayton, Mail on Sunday
  • Estel Farell-Roig, BristolLive
  • Niamh Hughes, BBC News
  • Emma Yeomans, The Times


Culture, Entertainment, Lifestyle Category

  • GOLD WINNER: Maddy Mussen, JOE
  • Laoise Gallagher, KentOnline
  • Liam Kelly, The Sunday Times
  • Nikki Onafuye – BBC Three /The Nikki Diaries

International Affairs Category

  • GOLD WINNER: Charlie Mitchell – The Times
  • Jamie Johnson – The Telegraph
  • Jessie Williams  – Freelance


Financial & Consumer Affairs Category

  • GOLD WINNER: Imogen Tew – The Times/ Sunday Times
  • Olivia Konotey Ahulu – Bloomberg
  • Emily White – Money Saving Expert


Health Category

  • GOLD WINNER: Rosa Furneaux – The Bureau of Investigative Journalism
  • Derek Healey – The Courier
  • Elisabeth Mahase – British Medical Journal


Politics Category

  • GOLD WINNER: Tony Diver, The Daily Telegraph
  • Harriet Line, Daily Mail
  • Ione Wells, BBC News


City & Business Category

  • GOLD WINNER: Simon Foy – The Telegraph
  • Luke Barr – Mail on Sunday
  • Louisa Clarence-Smith – The Times


Best Social / Content Activation Category

  • Nabihah Parkar, Vice News


Best Producer

  • Rachel Bradley – ITV News


Best Environmental Reporting

  • Steph Spyro – The Daily Express


Best Campaign / Investigation

  • Conor Matchett, The Scotsman


The Depolarisation Award

  • Gabriel Gavin – Freelance


The Judges


MHP Mischief’s 30 To Watch Awards are judged by leading journalists from across the industry – many of whom are former #30ToWatch winners.


Our 2022 judging panel is chaired by Richard Sambrook, Former Director of News at the BBC and now Professor of Journalism at Cardiff University School of Journalism, and includes:

  • Anne Alexander – Senior Political Producer, Good Morning Britain
  • Pete Clifton – Editor-in-Chief, Press Association
  • Sonia Sodha – Chief Leader Writer, The Observer
  • Harry Cole – Political Editor, The Sun
  • John Stevens – Deputy Political Editor, Daily Mail
  • Kat Lay – Health Editor, The Times
  • Oliver Shah – Associate Editor, The Sunday Times
  • Peter Campbell – Global Motor Industry Correspondent, Financial Times
  • Ed Cumming – Senior Feature Writer, The Telegraph
  • Scott Bryan – Broadcaster and Journalist
  • Katie Strick – Features Writer, London Evening Standard
  • Robert Guest – Foreign Editor, The Economist
  • Lauren Davidson – Editor, Telegraph.co.uk
  • James Ball – Global Editor, The Bureau of Investigative Journalism
  • Isabella Silvers – Integrated Associate Editor, Hearst
  • Natalie Kenway – Global Head of ESG Insight, ESG Clarity
  • Sam Taylor – Managing Editor, BBC News

Get in touch 


If you have any questions about MHP Mischief’s 30 To Watch Young Journalist Awards please email [email protected].

Latest News

See all News
10 Apr 2024

Introducing the Sport Category | 30 to Watch: Journalism Awards, 2024

For 2024 we have launched a 'Sport' category to shine a spotlight on the unique storytelling and great talent within sport journalism. James Rollinson, Director, Earned Media, shares insights into the...See More

20 Mar 2024

 30 To Watch: Journalism Awards open for entries 

Now in their 13th year, the awards celebrate the most talented and influential young journalists in Britain....See More

See all News