04 May 2023

The MHP Group 30 To Watch: Journalism Awards 2023 Gold Winners Revealed

We are pleased to announce the gold winners, in the 30 To Watch: Journalism awards, 2023


Last night, 30 of the UK’s leading young journalists gathered at the top of News UK’s headquarters for the 2023 MHP Group 30 To Watch Journalism Awards, celebrating with leading editors, broadcasters and commentators as this year’s Gold winners were announced.

Hosted by ITV News’ Lucrezia Millarini, and with addresses from Victoria Newton, Editor-in-Chief at The Sun, and Head of Sky News, John Ryley, the Awards once-again brought together the rising stars of British news.

Now in their 12th year, the MHP Group 30 to Watch Journalism Awards are a major moment in the industry’s calendar, judged by some of the biggest names in news.

More than 300 journalists entered this year, vying for one of 30 places among the winners, including nine prestigious Gold awards.


The 30 To Watch Gold Winners: 

City & Business – James Baxter-Derrington, Investment Week

Culture, Entertainment & Lifestyle – Abigail Buchanan, The Daily Telegraph

Health – Emily Townsend, Health Service Journal

International Affairs – Shayma Bakht, The Times

News & Investigations – Runako Celina, BBC News

Personal Finance & Consumer Affairs – Grace Gausden, The i

Politics – Noa Hoffman, The Sun

Production – Jade Liversidge, ITV News

Science, Environment & Technology – Cristina Criddle, Financial Times



The Awards exist to promote opportunity and diversity in British news and this year, for the first time in the Awards’ history, a special ‘Breakthrough’ award, was created in partnership with NewsUK to recognise the work of journalists from non-university backgrounds.

The inaugural Breakthrough Award was won by Isaac Crowson, The Sun.

Opening the ceremony, Victoria Newton commented:

“The quality of those entered was higher than ever before – with the judges being sent agenda-setting scoops, interviews and features, and hard-hitting investigations, published across many different platforms.”

“There has never been a more important time to be a journalist. In the past year we have seen truly extraordinary events – three prime ministers, a war in Europe, the death of our Queen, and this coming weekend the coronation of a new King. Nobody chronicles these history-making moments better than the British media.”

Chair of Judges, John Ryley, was also presented with the 30 to Watch Outstanding Achievement Award, in recognition of his contribution to British journalism, including supporting the careers of next generation news talent.

Presenting the Outstanding Achievement Award, MHP Group Head of Strategic Media Keith Gladdis said:

“John Ryley is in the rare position of having worked for all three major news broadcasters. In that time, he campaigned successfully for the first live televised Leaders Debate, brought cameras into British courts for the first time and launched the first dedicated daily climate programme.

“He has put innovation and talent at the forefront of Sky News. But there are always two ways to judge an editor – firstly from their product and secondly from the people who work with them. As one former colleague told me, John is ‘Always pushing boundaries, challenging convention and always one step ahead. More importantly, he’s always got your back.’”

Download the 2023 awards booklet

The full list of MHP Group 30 to Watch Journalism Award 2023 winners:

30 To Watch Breakthrough Award – In partnership with News UK

Isaac Crowson, The Sun


City & Business

James Baxter-Derrington, Investment Week

Todd Gillespie, Bloomberg

Lora Jones, BBC News


Culture, Entertainment & Lifestyle

Abigail Buchanan, Daily Telegraph

Jade Cuttle, The Times

Jocelyn Evans, ITV News

Hannah Tomes, The Spectator



George Hancorn, ITV News

Xantha Leatham, Daily Mail

Emily Townsend, Health Service Journal

Highly commended – Phillip Sime, ITV News


International Affairs

Shayma Bakht, The Times

Lucy Marley, The News Movement

Oliver Telling, Financial Times


News & Investigations

Megan Agnew, The Sunday Times

Greg Barradale, The Big Issue

Runako Celina, BBC News

George Greenwood, The Times

Monika Plaha, BBC News


Personal Finance & Consumer Affairs

Emily Braeger, Daily Express

Grace Gausden, The i

Samantha Everett, BBC News


A special thank you to our independent judging panel this year:

Anne Alexander, Head of Politics, Good Morning Britain
Peter Campbell, Global Motor Industry Correspondent, Financial Times
Laura Donnelly, Health Editor, The Telegraph
Emily Fairbairn, Senior Associate Head of Features, The Sun
Richard Fletcher, Business Editor, The Times
Robert Guest, Deputy Editor, The Economist
Daniel Hewitt, Investigations Correspondent, ITV News
Natalie Kenway, Editor in Chief, ESG Clarity
Kat Lay, Health Editor, The Times
Paul Morgan-Bentley, Head of Investigations, The Times
Jim Norton, Tech Editor, Daily Mail
Kerri-Ann Roper, Head of Entertainment & Features, PA Media
John Ryley, Head of Sky News, Sky News
Colletta Smith, Cost of Living Correspondent, BBC News
Sonia Sodha, Columnist, The Guardian
John Stevens, Political Editor, Daily Mirror
Ruth Sunderland, Group Business Editor, Daily Mail and Mail on Sunday
Ben Wilkinson, Head of Personal Finance, Daily Telegraph

Latest News

See all News
30 May 2024
MHP Group 30 To Watch Journalism Gold Winners 2024

30 To Watch: Journalism Awards 2024 Gold Winners Revealed

We are pleased to announce the gold winners, in the 30 To Watch: Journalism awards, 2024... Read more

22 May 2024

Winners of the 30 To Watch: Journalism Awards, 2024

This is the 13th year of the 30 To Watch awards and once again the calibre of entries has been outstanding.... Read more

See all News