26 Apr 2023

Winners of the 30 To Watch: Journalism Awards, 2023

This is the 12th year of the 30 To Watch awards and once again the calibre of entries has been outstanding.

Keith Gladdis

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 30 To Watch: Journalism awards for 2023.

For 12 years MHP Group has celebrated some of the best young talent in the media such as Sophy Ridge from Sky News, Marianna Spring from the BBC and Lewis Goodall from the News Agents podcast.

The event gets bigger each year. This time we received more than 300 entries from the Isle of Wight to Aberdeen and as far afield as the United States and Australia.

A special thank you to our independent judging panel, chaired John Ryley, Head of Sky News, who reviewed and deliberated over this year’s entries. The panel included Ruth Sunderland, the Group Business Editor of the Daily Mail, Anne Alexander from GMB and Daniel Hewitt from ITV News.

We were particularly pleased to welcome back former 30 To Watch winners as judges including Daily Mirror political editor John Stevens, Times Health editor Kat Lay and FT Motor Industry correspondent Peter Campbell.

This year we are proud to launch the new 30 To Watch Breakthrough Award, in partnership with News UK. This award celebrates journalists whose dedication and resilience have seen them successfully enter the industry without the benefit of going to university.


The 2023 30 To Watch: Journalism Winners:


30 To Watch Breakthrough Award – In partnership with News UK

Isaac Crowson, The Sun

Highly commended – Jamie Roberton, Channel 4 News


City & Business

James Baxter-Derrington, Investment Week

Todd Gillespie, Bloomberg

Lora Jones, BBC News


Culture, Entertainment & Lifestyle

Abigail Buchanan, Daily Telegraph

Jade Cuttle, The Times

Jocelyn Evans, ITV News

Hannah Tomes, The Spectator

Highly commended – Rishi Davda, ITV News



George Hancorn, ITV News

Xantha Leatham, Daily Mail

Emily Townsend, Health Service Journal

Highly commended – Phillip Sime, ITV News


International Affairs

Shayma Bakht, The Times

Lucy Marley, The News Movement

Oliver Telling, Financial Times

Highly commended – Harriet Barber, The Telegraph


News & Investigations

Megan Agnew, The Sunday Times

Greg Barradale, The Big Issue

Runako Celina, BBC News

George Greenwood, The Times

Monika Plaha, BBC News

Highly commended – Eve Livingstone


Personal Finance & Consumer Affairs

Emily Braeger, Daily Express

Grace Gausden, The i

Samantha Everett, BBC News

Highly commended – Harry Brennan, The Telegraph



James Heale, The Spectator

Noa Hoffman, The Sun

Ailbhe Rea, POLITICO

Highly commended – Steph Spyro, Daily Express



Martin Kimber, Sky News

Jade Liversidge, ITV News

Persis Love, Financial Times

Highly commended – Dominic Hauschild, Times Radio


Science, Environment & Technology

Cristina Criddle, Financial Times

Sam Leader, ITV News


Massive congratulations to all of our winners. We look forward to seeing you on the 3rd May for the awards ceremony.


Our 2023 judges:


The full list of judges: 

Anne Alexander, Head of Politics, Good Morning Britain
Peter Campbell, Global Motor Industry Correspondent, Financial Times
Laura Donnelly, Health Editor, The Telegraph
Emily Fairbairn, Senior Associate Head of Features, The Sun
Richard Fletcher, Business Editor, The Times
Robert Guest, Deputy Editor, The Economist
Daniel Hewitt, Investigations Correspondent, ITV News
Natalie Kenway, Editor in Chief, ESG Clarity
Kat Lay, Health Editor, The Times
Paul Morgan-Bentley, Head of Investigations, The Times
Jim Norton, Tech Editor, Daily Mail
Kerri-Ann Roper, Head of Entertainment & Features, PA Media
John Ryley, Head of Sky News, Sky News
Colletta Smith, Cost of Living Correspondent, BBC News
Sonia Sodha, Columnist, The Guardian
John Stevens, Political Editor, Daily Mirror
Ruth Sunderland, Group Business Editor, Daily Mail and Mail on Sunday
Ben Wilkinson, Head of Personal Finance, Daily Telegraph


Latest News

See all News
29 Apr 2024

Political Insider: Humza Yousaf resigns as Scottish First Minister

MHP's Public Affairs team provide their take on the dramatic events in Scotland over the last week...See More

24 Apr 2024

International comparison proves the UK is a pioneer in tobacco control

The UK's recent tobacco ban has passed its first vote, signalling a push towards a "smoke-free generation." MHP’s Lulu Price and Noah Froud delve into the UK’s unique stance on tobacco control, wh...See More

See all News