22 May 2024

Winners of the 30 To Watch: Journalism Awards, 2024

This is the 13th year of the 30 To Watch awards and once again the calibre of entries has been outstanding.

Keith Gladdis
Keith Gladdis

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 30 To Watch: Journalism awards for 2024.

For 13 years MHP Group has celebrated some of the best young talent in the media such as Sophy Ridge from Sky News, Marianna Spring from the BBC and Lewis Goodall from the News Agents podcast.

The event gets bigger each year. This year we received more than 350 entries from all corners of the UK.

A special thank you to our independent judging panel, chaired John Ryley, Former Head of Sky News, who reviewed and deliberated over this year’s entries. The panel included Laura Wilshaw, Deputy Editor of Channel 4 News, Richard Frediani from BBC Breakfast and Jennifer Savin from Cosmopolitan.

We were particularly pleased to welcome back former 30 To Watch winners as judges including Daily Mirror political editor John Stevens, Guardian Global Health Correspondent Kat Lay and FT Global Motoring Correspondent Peter Campbell.

For 2024 we are proud to launch the new Sport category. This award celebrates journalists who cover everything from match reports and analysis to interviews and features looking at the major trends influencing the sporting world. We were delighted to welcome Adam Crafton from The Athletic and Martyn Ziegler from The Times, as judges for this category.

The 2024 30 To Watch: Journalism Winners:


30 To Watch Breakthrough Award

Eleanor Gregory, ITV News


City & Business

Alys Key, Digital Frontier

Tom Saunders, The Times

Highly commended – Calum Muirhead, Daily Mail / Mail on Sunday


Culture, Entertainment & Lifestyle

Tiwa Adebayo, Bloomberg

Amy Beecham, Stylist

Shehab Khan, ITV News

Debbie Ridgard, Sky News

Highly commended – Olivia Petter, The Independent



Cree Haughton, ITV News

Zoe Tidman, Health Service Journal

Highly commended – Anna Colivicchi, Pulse


International Affairs

Richard Assheton, Freelance

Sarah Newey, Daily Telegraph

Jack Tayor, Sky News

Highly commended – Ian Johnston, Financial Times


News & Investigations

Sophie Braybrook, Channel 4 News

Conor Gogarty, WalesOnline

Ali Mitib, The Times

Sabrina Miller, Mail on Sunday

Katie Tarrant, The Sunday Times

Highly commended – Holly Bancroft, The Independent


Personal Finance & Consumer Affairs

Jessica Beard, Mail / Mail on Sunday

Pieter Snepvangers, Daily Telegraph

Highly commended – Katharine Swindells, Inside Housing



Amy Gibbons, Daily Telegraph

Tali Fraser, The House Magazine

Andrew Misra, ITV News

Highly commended – Lewis Denison, ITV News



Sarah Gough, Sky News

Jonny McGuigan, BBC News

Rachel Parkes, Channel 4 News

Highly commended – Daniel Ajose


Science, Environment & Technology

Matilda Davies, The Times

Nimra Shahid, The Bureau of Investigative Journalism

Highly commended – Billy Perrigo, TIME Magazine



Jordan Campbell, The Athletic

Isaan Khan, Daily Mail

Amar Mehta, Sky Sports News

Highly commended – Dan Sheldon, The Athletic


Massive congratulations to all of our winners. We look forward to seeing you on the 29th May for the awards ceremony.


Our 2024 judges:

Anne Alexander, Head of Politics, Good Morning Britain
Shivali Best, Executive Science & Tech Editor, MailOnline
Shekar Bhatia, Senior Reporter, MailOnline
Peter Campbell, Global Motor Industry Correspondent, Financial Times
Adam Crafton, Football Writer, The Athletic
Anthony France, Senior News Correspondent, Evening Standard
Richard Frediani, BBC Breakfast
Robert Guest, Deputy Editor, The Economist
Daniel Hewitt, Investigations Editor, ITV News
Kat Lay, Health Editor, The Times
Shaun Lintern, Health Editor, The Sunday Times
Paul Morgan-Bentley, Head of Investigations, The Times
Ben O’Driscoll, Executive Editor, The Sun
Kerri-Ann Roper, Head of Entertainment & Features, PA Media
John Ryley, Former Head of Sky News, Sky News
Jennifer Savin, Features Editor, Cosmopolitan
Colletta Smith, Cost of Living Correspondent, BBC News
John Stevens, Political Editor, Daily Mirror
Francesca Washtell, Mail on Sunday
Ben Wilkinson, Head of Personal Finance, Daily Telegraph
Laura Wilshaw, Deputy Editor, Channel 4 News
Martyn Ziegler, Chief Sports Reporter, The Times


Latest News

See all News
04 Jun 2024

Mitsubishi Electric appoints MHP Group to handle EMEA Strategic Communications

MHP Group has been appointed by Mitsubishi Electric Europe B.V as its strategic communications partner in EMEA... Read more

30 May 2024
MHP Group 30 To Watch Journalism Gold Winners 2024

30 To Watch: Journalism Awards 2024 Gold Winners Revealed

We are pleased to announce the gold winners, in the 30 To Watch: Journalism awards, 2024... Read more

See all News