28 Nov 2023

Winners of the 30 To Watch: Politics Awards, 2023

Congratulations to our 2023 30 To Watch: Politics award winers!


We are delighted to announce the winners of the 30 To Watch: Politics awards for 2023.

As we approach a year that is likely to bring significant change to British politics, it seems fitting to search out the talent that looks set shape of politics into the future. That’s what MHP Group’s 30 To Watch: Politics is all about. 

This is the second year for our Politics awards, which were launched in 2022 as a companion for our long-established 30 To Watch: Journalism awards, which have become a sought-after prize for emerging British journalists and been proven remarkably successful in their ability to foretell a bright career. 

We were overwhelmed by the increased interest in 30 To Watch: Politics this year, with applications three-times the number received in the inaugural year. This success was in no small part driven by our committed partners: Total Politics, Savanta, Dods Political Intelligence, DeepSeer, and I have a voice, who helped us promote the opportunity to the widest possible audience.   

Congratulations to our 2023 Winners.

Tim Snowball, Head of Public Affairs 

The 2023 30 To Watch: Politics Winners:


Commentator ‘to watch’

Aletha Adu, The Guardian 

Mhari Aurora, Sky News 

Eleni Courea, POLITICO 

Calum Macdonald, Times Radio 

Diversity/ Inclusivity Champion ‘to watch’

Dr. Alex Bulat and & Lara Parizotto, Migrant Democracy Project 

Haleemah Farooq, Office of Kent’s Police and Crime Commissioner 

Melanie Fernandes, WIPA & KPMG 

Health Champion ‘to watch’ 

Dr Azmain Chowdhury, Doctor & Content Creator 

Charli Clement, Activist & Lived Experience Consultant 

Lydia Paynter, Malaria No More UK 

Issue Campaigner ‘to watch’  

Sharon Gaffka, Freelancer and Activist 

Imogen Payter, UK Friends of Ukraine 

Afzal Pervez, Commonwealth Research Group 

Madison Rogers, Cats Protection 

Nathan Stilwell, Humanists UK 

Hannah Swirsky, Samaritans 

Local Champion ‘to watch’  

Charlie Edwards, Lancashire County Council 

Isaac Howarth, Sheffield Conservatives 

Jordan Jacobs, Rayleigh Town Council 

Parliamentarian ‘to watch’ 

Sara Britcliffe, Member of Parliament for Hyndburn 

Keir Mather, Member of Parliament for Selby and Ainsty 

Emma Roddick, Member of The Scottish Parliament 

Political Adviser ‘to watch’  

Laura Dunn, Consultant 

Alice Hopkin, Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office   

Jonty Leibowitz, The Labour Party   

Muneera Lula, The Labour Party 

Henna Shah, The Labour Party 

Think Tanker ‘to watch’   

Connor Escudero, Young Fabians  

Maxwell Marlow, Adam Smith Institute 

Jenevieve Treadwell, Onward 

Massive congratulations to all of our winners. We look forward to seeing you on the 6th December for the awards ceremony.


Our 2023 judges:


The full list of judges: 

Nusrat Ghani MP, Business and Trade Minister

David Lammy MP, Shadow Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs

Seema Malhotra MP, Shadow Minister for Skills

Tim Farron MP, Shadow Minister for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs

Baroness Arlene Foster, Former First Minister of Northern Ireland

Mark Wallace, Chief Executive, Total Politics

Dean Sabri, Head of UK Political Intelligence, Dods Political Intelligence

Rebecca Deegan, Founder & CEO, I have a voice

Rosa Prince, Editor, London Playbook, Politico

Lucy Aitkens, Group Director, External Affairs, Sky

Atul Hatwal, Editor, Labour Uncut

Claire Ellicott, Whitehall Editor, Daily Mail

Roger Perowne, CEO, Savanta

Latest News

See all News
04 Jun 2024

Mitsubishi Electric appoints MHP Group to handle EMEA Strategic Communications

MHP Group has been appointed by Mitsubishi Electric Europe B.V as its strategic communications partner in EMEA... Read more

30 May 2024
MHP Group 30 To Watch Journalism Gold Winners 2024

30 To Watch: Journalism Awards 2024 Gold Winners Revealed

We are pleased to announce the gold winners, in the 30 To Watch: Journalism awards, 2024... Read more

See all News